Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics?

Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics
Answer: The alcohols used in creams/cosmetics etc. are denatured and furthermore are NOT from the ‘khamr-asli’ category which is najis (napaak and impure) thus the use of such perfumes, colognes etc is permissible.

Is Denat alcohol halal in Islam?

What is Alcohol Denat? Is it halal or haram? Question: As salamu alaikum. Is alcohol denat halal or haram? Answer: Wa alaykum salam wa rahmatuLlahi wa bakaratuHu, All praise is to Allah. And, prayers and salutations are on the Prophet Muhammad. What is Alcohol Denat? “Alcohol denat” or denatured alcohol is ethanol mixed with additives to form an inconsumable mixture.

Furthermore, it is a common ingredient in many hygienic and cleaning items, like toothpaste, window cleaner, deodorant, etc. Alcohol denat is not manufactured for an unlawful use. In fact, its many uses are a benefit and advantage to people. An Opinion on the Purity of Alcohol Manufactured for a Lawful Reason The reason behind producing alcohol has caused a difference of opinion amongst scholars regarding whether or not it is physically impure.

There is a differentiation related pertaining to alcohol made for the manufacture of vinegar. This type of alcohol would be considered as pure. The purity of alcohol produced to make vinegar is not a strong view; it is related as a wajh shadhdh, ( Rawdat al-Talibin 1/122, Tanqih 1/142, Wasit 1/141) A weak opinion, on the authority of Sh.

Abu Ali al-Sinji, that it is permissible to buy and sell khamr muhtaramah is related. His view is based on it being considered pure. ( Sharh al-Muhadhdhab 2/595) The official view of the Madhhab shall be discussed below. An Opinion on the Purity of Alcohol According to some authorities alcohol is pure.

This is transmitted by Qadi Abu al-Tayyib and others from Imam Malik’s teacher Rabiah, and also from Imam Dawud al-Zahiri. ( Sharh al-Muhadhdhab 2/563) This view has also been attributed to Imam Muzani. ( Hashiyat Amirah 1/69-70) This view is also given consideration by Sh.

  • The Shafi School’s Ruling on Alcohol’s Purity
  • In the Shafi School, every liquid intoxicant is impure. ( Tuhfat al-Muhtaj 1/288) Imam Nawawi mentioned, “impurities are: every liquid intoxicant” ( Minhaj al-Talibin 80)
  • The Concept of “‘Umum al-Balwa”

Rulings in the Sacred Law are not intended to place undue and excessive difficulties on people. The evidence for this is Allah’s saying, “Allah desires for you ease, he does not desire for you difficulty.” ( Surah al-Baqarah 185) Also, Allah says, “There has not been made for you, in din, a difficulty.” ( Surah al-Hajj 78) And, on the authority of Abu Hurayrah that the Prophet Muhammad said, “Verily, din is easy.” ( Sahih al-Bukhari 1/59 with Shaykh al-Islam’s Tuhfat al-Bari ) These texts (and others) establish the well-accepted legal principle: المشقة تجلب التيسير، إذا ضاق الأمر اتسع “Difficulty incurs ease; when a matter becomes constricted it widens.” This principle, moreover the evidence it is based upon, permits dispensation during difficult circumstance.

  • Various reasons allow for relaxation in a given ruling.
  • One of these reasons is public affliction or ‘umum al-balwa,
  • The widespread usage of alcohol denat in industrialized countries creates a situation where at some point most people will come into contact with a product containing it.
  • A widespread affliction is considered accordingly under the discussion of the abovementioned principle.

It is stated that: الحاجة العامة تنزل منزلة الضرورة الخاصة “A public need reaches the level of individual necessity.” Therefore, in the instance that something is rife in the public sphere, it is considered an utter necessity. A necessity is considered in this context.

The principle and the others connected to it are related by various authorities, such as Ibn al-Subki in al-Ashbah wa al-Nazair 1/48, Suyuti in al-Ashbah wa al-Nazair 160-80, and Zarkashi in al-Manthur fi al-Qawaid 1/120; 2/24, 317; 3/169. When considering the issue in light of ‘umum al-balwa, it does not necessarily entail considering alcohol denat pure.

Rather, it may be considered excusable, ( Hashiyat Nihayat al-Muhtaj 1/101) In his marginalia on Khatib, Bujayrimi cited Ramli as saying:

  1. المراد بعموم البلوى كثرته في ذلك المحل المقصود عادة بحيث لو كلفناه العدول عنه إلى غيره لأدى إلى الحرج
  2. “What is meant by ‘umum al-balwa : it is consistently rampant in that given place, whereas if we made refraining from it necessary, that would entail difficulty.” (2/93)
  3. Examples of ‘Umum al-Balwa Being Applied

1) In Nihayat al-Muhtaj with Shabramallisi’s marginalia 2/27-28, consideration is made for excusing impurities found in places commonly affected by them, like streets, pathways, restroom entrances, etc. Also, see Tuhfat al-Muhtaj with Sharwani’s 1/130.2) In Sharh al-Muhadhdhab 1/209, consideration is made for mouse droppings when a common affliction.

  1. Also, see al-Fatawa al-Kubra al-Fiqhiyyah 1/25.3) In al-Fatawa al-Kubra al-Fiqhiyyah 1/159, mention is made regarding some authorities considering small amounts of blood from the body’s orifices excusable.4) In Nihayat al-Muhtaj 1/204, wearing socks stitched from impure hair is excused.
  2. Also, see Ibn al-Subki’s al-Ashbah wa al-Nazair 1/49.5) In Nihayat al-Muhtaj 1/245, cheese with certain types of rennet is excused.

Conclusion In conclusion, reputable authorities have related that alcohol is pure. Other views are also found stating that alcohol may be pure, depending on the reason for why it was made. The Shafi Madhhab’s reference works express that liquid intoxicants are impure.

  1. Today, some products, like hygienic and cleaning products, are essential.
  2. Authorities within the Madhhab have established legal principles, such as what is mentioned above.
  3. In light of these principles, there is satisfactory justification to consider the alcohol found in products vital in people’s lives as excusable,

And Allah knows best. Fatwa Dept. : What is Alcohol Denat? Is it halal or haram?

Which alcohol is halal in cosmetics?

The Use of Alcohol in Halal Skincare Products Join hebeloft’s Telegram channel @Hebeloft, to get the latest updates and promotions! Alcohol from the perspective of Muslims For Muslims, choosing halal products is not limited to the food they consume. When it comes to makeup and skincare products, they also need to be careful as cosmetics containing ingredients derived from impure animals and alcohol are considered haram.

  • As such, Muslims look out for makeup and skincare products without alcohol as the ingredient.
  • Alcohol is commonly used in moisturizers.
  • For example, ethanol is used to make moisturisers feel lighter and help the product penetrate the skin.
  • Fatty alcohols such as Cetyl and Cetearyl alcohol are also used to keep the moisturiser homogeneous.

Nonetheless, not all the alcohols mentioned above are haram. Fatty alcohols (Cetyl and Cetearyl alcohol) are derived from natural sources which makes them suitable ingredients for halal skincare and makeup products.1) Cetyl Alcohol Cetyl Alcohol is a long-chain alcohol that is used as a thickener or emulsifier in the production of cosmetics.

It is hydrating and has softening properties which makes it an amazing ingredient for skincare products. Cetyl alcohol ensures that the components in your skincare products remain well combined for smooth application.2) Cetearyl Alcohol Cetearyl alcohol is similar to Cetyl alcohol. It can be manmade and is also found in plants such as palm oil and coconut.

Cetearyl alcohol keeps the skin soft and is non-irritating to the skin. This alcohol is also halal and can be used in lotions, creams and makeup.3) Ethyl Alcohol (Ethanol) Ethanol is prevalent in skincare and makeup products. It can be easily absorbed by your skin and transfused into your blood, which then circulates to all parts of the body.

Since taking alcohol orally is prohibited for Muslims, if this type of intoxicant is found in your blood, it’s declared as haram. For non-Muslims, you should watch out for Ethanol in the ingredients list of your skincare products as well. Unlike fatty alcohols, Ethanol is notoriously known to be extremely drying on the skin.

Even though it may be tempting to use products containing Ethanol for an immediate cooling sensation, it can lead to enlarged pores and worsen your skin condition. For example, many reach out for facial mists containing alcohol as a few sprays can instantly make you feel refreshed.

  1. However, this refreshing effect is attributed to a very damaging ingredient – ethanol! Hebeloft recommendation Where to find a product that is alcohol-free that still possess refreshing properties? From our range of Korean skincare products, we recommend the,
  2. It soothes, hydrates, tones the skin and balances oil levels to leave the skin feeling cool and refreshed.

Most importantly, it is also alcohol-free! Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics We understand that finding halal skincare and makeup products can be difficult with limited halal skincare brands in the market. At Hebeloft, we specialise in K beauty, including some of the best Korean skincare brands in Singapore. We also carry some of the best halal skincare products in Singapore to buy online.

What is alcohol denat made of?

Denatured Alcohol – The term ‘ denatured alcohol ‘ refers to alcohol products adulterated with toxic and/or bad tasting additives (e.g., methanol, benzene, pyridine, castor oil, gasoline, isopropyl alcohol, and acetone), making it unsuitable for human consumption.

Why is alcohol denat in cosmetics?

– Denatured alcohol is sometimes used in cosmetics and skincare products (such as toners) as a drying agent: It dries quickly, neutralizes oil, and gives your skin a smooth, matte feel. In small amounts, denatured alcohol is usually no problem in cosmetics unless it’s mixed with methanol, which can seep in through the skin.

  • However, while denatured alcohol isn’t toxic at the levels needed for cosmetics, it can cause excessive dryness and disturb the natural barrier on your skin.
  • Some studies suggest that denatured alcohol on skin may also cause breakouts, skin irritation, and redness.
  • A note of caution: Denatured alcohol can show up in products claiming to be “alcohol-free” through a sneaky marketing loophole.

In FDA-approved parlance, “alcohol” only refers to ethanol. So once the alcohol in a product has been “denatured,” it’s no longer ethanol — and therefore, according to the strictest interpretation of FDA standards, is not alcohol. That said, you don’t need to swear off all alcohols in skincare.

stearyl alcohol cetearyl alcohol cetyl alcohol

These kinds of fatty alcohols are often added to skincare products as emollients, or moisturizing agents. A small 2005 study with 35 participants suggests that adding emollients to alcohol-based hand rubs might decrease skin irritation, so if you’re worried about skincare products with denatured alcohol, look for one that also includes water, glycerin, or fatty alcohols.

Which alcohol is not halal?

All alcohol or only wine debate – Early caliphs distributed cooked wine ( tilā’ ) to Muslim troops, considering that is was no longer intoxicating. However, fermentation could resume in the amphorae, and Caliph ‘Umar II had to prohibit drinking this beverage.

  • Like the rationalist school of Islamic theology, the Muʿtazila, early Hanafi scholars upheld the unlawfulness of intoxication, but restricted its definition to fermented juice of grapes or grapes and dates.
  • As a result, alcohol derived by means of honey, barley, wheat and millet such as beer, whisky or vodka was permitted according to Abu Hanifa and Abu Yusuf, although all forms of grape alcohol were banned absolutely.

This was in stark contrast to other schools of fiqh, which prohibit consumption of alcohol in all its forms, though Hanafis traced their view on intoxicants back to Umar ( d.644) and Abdullah ibn Masud ( c,653), Averroes, the Muslim Andalusi polymath and jurist, explained it thus in his encyclopedia of comparative Islamic jurisprudence, In their argument by way of reasoning they said that the Koran has explicitly laid down that the Illa (underlying cause) of prohibition of khamr is that it prevents the remembrance of God and breeds enmity and hatred found only in a certain quantity of the intoxicating liquor not in what is less than that; it follows therefore that only this quantity be prohibited.

Drinking grape-derived wine (punishment applicable on drinking “even a drop”). Intoxication from non-grape intoxicants (certainly prohibited from a religious-moral perspective, but may or may not qualify for criminal punishment).

As the second category of punishment was specific to the Hanafis (other schools punish drinking regardless of intoxication), they had to come with a legal definition of drunkenness. These definitions ranged from Ibn Qutaybah ‘s, ” whose intellect has left him so he does not understand a little or much (anything at all)” to Ibn Nujaym’s,” does not know (the difference) between a man and a woman or the earth from the sky”.

Hanafi understanding of Shariah not only permitted adherents to indulge in alcoholic beverages but they could do so up to a near point of total “annihilation”. However, from the 12th century, the Hanafi school embraced the general prohibition of all alcoholic prohibitions, in line with the other schools.

Alcohol derived from honey, wheat, barley or corn is haram when used as an intoxicant, in an amount that intoxicates. But, if not used in any such manner, and intended to use for medical purpose, hygiene, perfume, etc., then it would be permissible.

Is 0.1% alcohol halal?

Ethanol and its Halal status in food industries by Jawad Alzeer and Khaled Abou Hadeed, 2016 – Zymase is an enzyme from yeast, which is responsible for the changes of simple sugars into ethanol and carbon dioxide. The fermentation reaction, represented by the simple equation: Simple Sugars àCH3 CH2 OH (ethanol) + CO2 (carbon dioxide) During the process of fermentation, in the absence of oxygen, ethanol concentration is increased until it is reached about 15%, above this concentration, yeast is toxified and zymaze enzyme is inhibited and fermentation process stopped.

  • How ethanol works Ethanol is completely soluble in water, when drank as beverage, the ethanol molecules are rapidly absorbed through the stomach by small intestines and bloodstream then supplied to tissues such as brain.
  • Small amounts of alcohol act as a stimulant to many organs, but with increasing levels it begins to act as a depressant in the body and increase the risk of developing disease.

Beer: It contains between 3% and 7% of ethanol and several compounds with antioxidant properties (Ghiselli et al., 2000). Wine: Its content of ethanol varies from 9% to 15%. Red wine has significant amounts of resveratrol, an antioxidant which is derived from the skin of grapes and seems to have anti-cancer properties (Chong et al.,2015).

  1. Spirits: These drinks contain between 35% and 50% of ethanol, although some reach even higher values, since they are obtained by distillation (Lachenmeier et al., 2015).
  2. Spirits include whiskey, vodka, grappa, gin, and tequila, among others (Table1).
  3. Ethanol contents in fresh fruits increase by time due to the anaerobic fermentation of their sugars (Logan & Distefano, 1998).

Ethanol content for unripe and ripe hanging palm fruits, and for over-ripe fallen fruits was determined. No ethanol was detected in the pulp of unripe palm fruits, whereas about 0.6% of ethanol in the ripe palm hanging fruits and ripe fallen fruits was determined to be 0.9%, the value was increased for over ripe-fallen fruits to 4.5% (Dudley, 2004).

Any ethanol produced by anaerobic fermentation and ranging between 1 and 15% is considered to be Haram (non-Halal, Forbidden), whereas ethanol produced by natural fermentation and less than 1% is considered as preserving agent and its Halal status is allowed. Any ethanol solution higher than 15% is treated as a toxic solution but still could be used in industries, meanwhile, ethanol solution prepared by dilution from absolute or denatured ethanol is allowed for industrial used but toxic for human consumption.

See also:  What Cosmetic Ingredients Contain Gluten?

However, any concentration varied from 0.1 to 100% prepared with the intention to be used as a beverage drink is considered non-Halal. Ethanol Halal status at a concentration less than 1% is allowed and called Mubah (neither forbidden nor recommended) in Islam, and essential to maintain the acidic condition and prevent the growth of harmful microbes.

As drinking 4 L of 1% of alcohol to reach intoxication is practically impossible, therefore one may conclude that alcohol less than 1% should be treated as a preserving agent rather than forbidden for reasons described above. In Islam, human deeds are judged on the bases of intentions (Niyyah), Prophet Mohammad ﷺ said “Verily, deeds are only with intentions” (Sahih Bukhari).

Therefore, any ethanol beverage or vinegar made with the intention to achieve partial or complete intoxication, it is prohibited, no matter if ethanol content is 15%. You can also read our posts on:

  • Fiqh of Seafood
  • Gelatine
  • Animal Rennet

Which ingredient is haram in cosmetics?

Manufacturing, Storing, Packaging, and Distribution – The formulation development of halal cosmetics must begin with ingredients that are undoubtedly of halal origin. Use of alternatively sourced “critical” ingredients (e.g., ethanol, fish-derived collagen, chicken-derived gelatin) must be recognized only when appropriate documents of halal certification are presented.

Other critical ingredients of unverified halal certification status are not recommended for use in the manufacture of halal cosmetics. The manufacture of halal cosmetic products must be produced in accordance with cGMP and other quality standards to assure product quality and safety. The creation of a group of personnel dedicated to the handling and production of halal cosmetics is recommended.

The premises must be designed and located in an area with no risk of contamination by non-halal materials (e.g., proper processes and personnel flow, distant from pig farms), All production facilities are restricted to the manufacture of halal cosmetics products only.

  1. It is imperative that processing of non-halal cosmetics must not be done in the same plant to avoid mandatory ritual cleansing (sertu), which may affect operations,
  2. Equipment must be dedicated for use only for halal cosmetic production.
  3. Contaminated water (e.g., water recycled from sewage treatment, water contaminated with najis) must not be used in the manufacture of halal cosmetics.

The composition of cleaning materials (e.g., scrubs, brushes) used in the maintenance of equipment and facilities must not originate from non-halal animals, Manufacturers have to assure that the warehouse and production lines for halal certified and non-halal ones must be physically separated or located in different plants should the manufacturer opt to produce non-halal certified cosmetics.

  • All the processes involved must be clearly labelled with a sign carrying the word halal to prevent them from mix-ups and contamination by non-halal or najis.
  • In addition, care should also be observed to avoid unexpected contamination from the environment (e.g., haram pets) and manpower particulate contamination (e.g., non-halal food or dust).

Halal cosmetic products must be labelled according to the prescribed labelling requirement of the regulatory bodies of each country. The label must bear a halal logo and accurately reflect the ingredients of the product as a means to aid consumer in their decision and consumption of the cosmetic product.

  1. Any text, illustrations as well as its advertisement must comply with Islamic law and local culture.
  2. The label should not depict lascivious or provocative images as this will automatically qualify the product as haram.
  3. The shape of the final product or its package must not exhibit the human body or body parts that are sexually suggestive.

A similar tone is recommended in branding of the product. The brand name of halal cosmetics shall not be named or synonymously named after non-halal materials to avoid confusion. Packaging materials are one of the concerns in the manufacture of halal cosmetics.

  1. Materials used in the production of the primary and secondary packaging must also comply with halal standards.
  2. Generally, packaging materials are made from halal sources but awareness on the origin of animal-derived ingredients used as aids in the manufacture of packaging must be recognized.
  3. Manufacturers of halal cosmetics must secure packaging materials from reputable producers of halal packaging,

Product accessories (e.g., application tools, brushes) must not be derived from porcine, human, or other haram materials. The distribution system has to ensure that halal cosmetic products reach the market maintaining their halal status without being contaminated by haram materials or najis.

Is 1 percent alcohol halal?

Any ethanol produced by anaerobic fermentation and ranging between 1 and 15% is considered to be Haram (non-Halal, Forbidden), whereas ethanol produced by natural fermentation and less than 1% is considered as preserving agent and its Halal status is allowed.

Can Muslims use deodorant?

Self-grooming – Aside from being as clean (purified) as they are for prayer, male Muslims are expected to cut their nails, and trim their hair and beards. They must also not wear any scent, including deodorant. They have to wear ihram clothing, which is a white, seamless garment.

Is alcohol denat the same as alcohol?

– Denatured alcohol is ethyl alcohol with substances added to it to make it unfit for human consumption. Isopropyl alcohol is another type of alcohol that shares many of the same uses. Both types of alcohol are unsafe for humans to consume orally, but they can usually be safely applied to the skin in the form of hand sanitizers and rubbing alcohol.

Why is alcohol denat bad for skin?

Side Effects of Alcohol Denat – As mentioned, marked skin dryness is a major side effect of this ingredient. Alcohol denat strips the natural oils from your skin, disrupting the skin barrier, explains Johnson. This not only means more moisture can escape (AKA your skin will be dryer), but also that more irritants may permeate, potentially increasing the likelihood of redness and sensitivity.

What is the difference between alcohol and alcohol denat?

Denatured Alcohol vs. Isopropyl Alcohol: Similar, But Very Different – While denatured alcohol and isopropyl alcohol have similar uses and are superficially the same (in that they’re both termed alcohols), they are in fact quite different:

Denatured alcohol is ethyl alcohol to which foul-smelling and bad-tasting elements have been added. Some of these additives are toxic. And while ethyl alcohol itself isn’t poisonous in weaker concentrations, the high concentrations present in denatured alcohol can be very harmful to humans and animals. It’s often used in strong solvents and industrial applications. Isopropyl alcohol is not a simple ethyl alcohol; it’s a secondary alcohol that’s produced in a different way. Although it can be safely used externally in small amounts (i.e. as a hand sanitizer), isopropyl alcohol is toxic and shouldn’t be ingested. Unlike denatured alcohol, isopropyl alcohol doesn’t usually have anything other than water added to it. Because it doesn’t have any additives, it’s better suited for some medical and lab work. It’s also better as an on-the-body antiseptic, as denatured alcohol’s additives can cause unwanted side effects.

Of course, your choice of isopropyl alcohol or denatured alcohol will depend on what you need it for. But now that you have the basic knowledge of these alcohols’ uses and differences, you can have a better idea of which one will meet your needs.

Is alcohol denat vegan?

Is Alcohol Denat Vegan? – Yes, alcohol denat is a vegan ingredient. It is sourced from plant-based ingredients or is occasionally synthetically produced. If you are looking for a vegan product, always check with the brand and ensure that the product you are interested in is cruelty-free.

Why does La Roche Posay use alcohol?

Skincare Ingredient and Safety Guide Main content Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics A comprehensive ingredient and safety guide to skincare ingredients used in La Roche-Posay products, so that you can understand more than the name listed on the drug facts box A soothing water sourced in the town of La Roche-Posay in France and a core ingredient in most of our products. Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics Also known as vitreoscilla filiformis, it’s an exclusive, patented ingredient cultivated in the La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water. It’s a postbiotic used in Lipikar AP+ Cream. Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics A key antioxidant technology in the Anthelios sun care range. It combines photostable UVA/UVB filters to deliver broad spectrum protection and powerful antioxidant protection. With Senna Alata, a tropical leaf extract known to defend skin cells in the upper layer of skin against damaging free radicals caused by the sun. Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics The primary sun filter in Anthelios SX SPF 15 Moisturizer, it is the only new sun filter approved in a sunscreen product in the last 20 years. This exclusive Ultraviolet A absorber is specifically formulated to help protect against short and long UVA rays. Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics Mineral pigments that provide the tint in tinted sunscreens, such as Anthelios Mineral Tinted 50 Fluid. Research has suggested iron oxides may also help provide protection against visible light (including blue light). Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics A synthetic dipeptide, also known as acetyl dipeptide-1 cetyl ester, used to help skin feel soothed. Ceramides are lipids naturally found in skin. They play an essential role to help retain moisture and maintain a healthy skin barrier. Ceramide 3, also known as Ceramide NP, is a skin-identical lipid used in our formulas to help support the skin moisture barrier. Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics A silicone-based polymer used as a skin protectant to help reduce water loss. It is one of the core ingredients in Cicaplast Balm B5 to help protect chapped, cracked, and chafed skin. Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics Derived from mushrooms, it is used in Glycolic B5 Serum to help visibly reduce skin discolorations. Recognized by dermatologists, this ingredient is used in Glycolic B5 Serum to help address the appearance of skin discolorations and the overall skin complexion.

  • Derived from the Centella Asiatica plant, madecassoside is known for its nourishing properties.
  • Phenylethyl resorcinol is a synthetic molecule that is used in the Pigmentclar range to help address visible skin discolorations.
  • Tocopheryl acetate is a synthetic, more stable form of vitamin E.
  • It has antioxidant properties to help neutralize damaging free radicals.

Derived from oats with soothing properties. Used in Lipikar Eczema Cream as a skin protectant to help relieve minor skin irritation and itching due to eczema and rashes. Fragrance is included in select formulas to help mask the base odors to provide a pleasant sensorial experience.

  • La Roche-Posay doesn’t use the most common fragrance allergens reported by European regulations which are considered more stringent than US.
  • The type of denatured alcohol we use is derived from plants and is not a synthetic alcohol.
  • It is used in the formula to help dissolve key ingredients and provides a light texture and refreshing feel.

Only a few of our cleansers include sodium laureth sulfate (SLES) which is a gentler alternative to sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS). Sodium Laureth Sulfate helps produce a nice foam and lather in use and is effective in removing oil, dirt, and debris from skin.

Propylene glycol is typically used in skincare products to help skin retain moisture or to help make other ingredients more soluble. The ingredient is commonly used as the majority of people do not find it irritating. It is used in select La Roche-Posay products. We are dedicated to skin health and our products go through rigorous testing to ensure they are suitable for sensitive skin.

La Roche-Posay formulas with Copper do not contribute to copper toxicity because it is designed for topical use and should not be ingested. Copper toxicity is typically linked to an excess of copper entering the body through ingestion. Parabens are a group of commonly used ingredients that act as a preservative in cosmetics and personal care products.

  1. They are highly effective in preventing the growth of fungi, bacteria and yeast that could contaminate and degrade products.
  2. As part of our commitment to deliver high-quality, effective products, certain parabens are sometimes used in some of our formulations to ensure the safety of our consumers.
  3. La Roche-Posay formulas with EDTA contain a very small concentration to help the product’s stability.

The safety of EDTA is safe for use in cosmetics, and for decades the data is well-reported. La Roche-Posay formulas with BHT contain a very small concentration of BHT to help the product’s stability. Studies have shown that the toxicity of this ingredient is unrelated to cosmetic use, and the World Health Organization has determined it is not an endocrine disruptor.

Is alcohol denat organic?

Organic Plant-Derived Alcohol Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics WE CAREFULLY SELECT ALL THE NATURAL INGREDIENTS WE USE TO CREATE OUR PRODUCTS Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics INCI: Alcohol Denat. Extraction: ecological plant-derived alcohol obtained from organically grown wheat, approved by COSMOS and Ecocert. It is obtained from wheat grown in Europe, using the whole grain of wheat as a starting material for an acid distillation process.

star star star star star_half

Price Regular price Is Alcohol Denat Halal In Cosmetics : Organic Plant-Derived Alcohol

Is 0 percent alcohol halal?

Conclusion – It is a common misconception that non-alcoholic beers are not halal. In reality, non-alcoholic beers are considered halal due to the fact that they are brewed with no alcohol content. Non-alcoholic beers are a great alternative to alcoholic beverages for those who follow the Islamic faith and want to enjoy a beer-like beverage without breaking any religious laws.

Non-alcoholic beers also offer health benefits, such as reducing the risk of heart disease and aiding in weight management, that are not found in alcoholic beverages.Furthermore, non-alcoholic beers tend to be lower in calories than alcoholic beverages, making them a great alternative for those looking to cut back on their calorie intake.If you want to try enhanced beers like, check it out,

Is all alcohol haram in Islam?

EXPLAINER: Islam’s ban on alcohol and how it’s applied

DOHA, Qatar (AP) — Just two days before the World Cup opener, host nation Qatar banned the sale of beer at stadiums in a sudden U-turn that was criticized by some and welcomed by others.Qatari officials have long said they were eager to welcome soccer fans from around the world to the tournament but that visitors should also respect their culture and traditions. Alcohol consumption, impermissible in Islam, is one of the areas where the country has been attempting to strike a delicate Here’s a look at some of the issues related to alcohol and Muslim beliefs. WHAT DOES THE QURAN SAY ABOUT ALCOHOL?

Drinking alcohol is considered haram, or forbidden, in Islam. As proof of the prohibition, Islamic scholars and Muslim religious authorities typically point to a verse in the Quran, the Muslim holy book, that calls intoxicants “the work of Satan” and tells believers to avoid them.

Additionally, they cite sayings of Prophet Muhammad and the negative effects that alcohol can have. Beyond abstaining from drinking, some Muslims also seek religious edicts on a variety of related day-to-day questions or dilemmas. These include whether or not to consume food mixed with alcohol; if it’s considered a sin to work at a restaurant that serves alcohol in a Western country; if perfumes containing alcohol are allowed; and whether to attend ceremonies or events where booze is served.

MUSLIM ATTITUDES ON ALCOHOL While the prohibition on alcohol in Islam is believed to be widely heeded, not all Muslims abstain from drinking. Some drink, whether privately or publicly. In a Pew Research Center survey of Muslims around the globe, most people surveyed said that drinking alcohol was morally wrong.

  • More than half in all countries where Muslims were surveyed held this view, including more than nine-in-ten in Thailand, Ghana, Malaysia, the Palestinian territories, Indonesia, Niger and Pakistan, according to the Pew report, which was published in 2013 and included 38,000 interviews.
  • Still, in 11 of the 37 countries where this question was asked, at least one-in-ten said that drinking alcohol is morally acceptable and in some countries, sizable percentages said consuming alcohol is not a moral issue, the report added.
See also:  De Donde Se Obtiene El Carbon Activo En Cosmetica?

HOW IS THE BAN ON ALCOHOL APPLIED? Alcohol is available in some Islamic nations though regulations vary widely and there can be intricate rules and restrictions on its sale or where it can be consumed. Some countries, like Saudi Arabia, outlaw alcohol altogether.

  1. Drinking there can be punished by flogging, fines, imprisonment and, for foreigners, deportation.
  2. The kingdom has in recent years been opening up entertainment options, which has spurred speculation about whether exceptions for alcohol consumption may be made in the future.
  3. Other places have a more relaxed approach, such as Dubai, a top travel destination in the United Arab Emirates that is known to many for its glitz and love for superlatives.

Dubai boasts a variety of bars, nightclubs and lounges that attract many visitors and well-to-do expatriate residents. In recent years, the city has also been increasingly loosening laws governing alcohol sales and possession of liquor. As in some other places, alcohol sales there provide a lucrative tax revenue source.

Alcohol is sold freely in liquor stores in Jordan and served in bars and restaurants throughout the capital of Amman. It is also available in Muslim-majority Egypt, which is traditionally popular with tourists and is home to a Christian minority. There, the young and rich can sip on cocktails or wines in beach clubs or bars, many with foreign names, while swaying to music.

Wine, beer and spirits can also be ordered online among other options. Still, drinking is rejected by most; in the Pew study, 79% of surveyed Muslims in Egypt said they viewed alcohol as morally wrong. BREAKING THE RULES In dry countries, some have gone to great lengths to obtain alcohol, at times risking arrest, or worse.

  1. In Saudi Arabia, home to Islam’s holiest sites, there have been reports of efforts to skirt the ban, including liquor runs by some to neighboring Bahrain.
  2. Attempts to sneak booze into the kingdom have over the years included bottles of whisky hidden in socks and cans of beer disguised as Pepsi.
  3. Some endeavors, however, end in tragedy.

In 2002, 19 people in Saudi Arabia died and others were hospitalized after drinking cologne containing methanol. In Iran, some have also died from methanol poisoning after they drank toxic homemade brews. DRINKING IN QATAR Qatar, which like Saudi Arabia follows an ultraconservative version of Islam known as Wahhabism, has strict limits on the purchase and consumption of alcohol, though its sale has been permitted in hotel bars for years.

  • During the World Cup, beer was originally supposed to be sold also at stadiums and at fan zones in the evenings.
  • That changed Friday when it was announced that only non-alcoholic beer would be available at the stadiums, except for in the luxury hospitality areas where champagne, wine, whiskey and other alcohol is served.

The vast majority of ticket holders don’t have access to those areas. The World Cup in Qatar is not the first to spur debate over whether alcohol sales should be allowed in matches. For the 2014 tournament, Brazil was forced to change a law to allow alcohol sales in stadiums — but the same cultural issues were not at play.

Brazil had banned alcohol sales at soccer matches in a bid to curb fan violence. Some of those who were pushing for the ban’s lifting said at the time that in-stadium beer sales were a key part of World Cup tradition. _ Associated Press religion coverage receives support through the AP’s collaboration with The Conversation US, with funding from Lilly Endowment Inc.

The AP is solely responsible for this content. : EXPLAINER: Islam’s ban on alcohol and how it’s applied

What percentage of alcohol is haram?

Question – I read in your fatwas something that seems to me to be contradictory when applied. In fatwa no.33763 you said: “We do not think that any alcoholic content in a thing makes it haram, rather if something contains a percentage of alcohol which will make a person intoxicated if he drinks it, then it is haram.

  • But if the amount is miniscule and does not have any effect, then it is halal.” But in fatwa no.103881 you said, when discussing the use of alcohol: “This prohibition is general and applies to all manners of using alcohol, whether in food or in drink.
  • It is not permissible to use it in food or drink in any way whatsoever.

The one who cooks meat with alcohol and consumes the juice is to be subjected to the hadd punishment, because the essence of the alcohol is still present.” However in the fatwa no.1814 you said: “It is not permissible to eat dishes cooked with alcohol, as ALL the alcohol is not evaporated with cooking or heat.” In the first fatwa, you focused on the possibility of intoxication as a definitive factor in the issue of prohibition, whereas in the other two fatwas you indicated that the mere presence of a percentage of alcohol, no matter what that percentage is, is sufficient cause for prohibition.

Is 0.5% alcohol free halal?

Conclusion – Non-alcoholic beer is a popular beverage among Muslims, and it can be considered halal as long as it meets certain criteria. According to, if the drink includes any intoxicating substance, it is haram. However, Islamweb states that a beverage containing 0.5% or less alcohol is not necessarily haram, as long as it does not intoxicate in large quantities.

  1. It is important to note that not all non-alcoholic beers are created equal.
  2. Some brands may contain trace amounts of alcohol, while others may be completely alcohol-free.
  3. As Opening The Bottle notes, non-alcoholic beer must be 0.0% ABV for it to be considered halal under strict Islamic Law.
  4. When purchasing non-alcoholic beer, it is important to read the label and ensure that it meets the necessary criteria.

Nearly all major beer brands produce zero-alcohol beers, but not all non-alcoholic beers are 0.0% ABV. Consumers should also be aware of the potential for cross-contamination during the production process. In conclusion, non-alcoholic beer can be halal as long as it meets certain criteria and does not contain any intoxicating substances.

Is 0.4% alcohol haram?

Islam clearly forbids any intoxicant, even if it contains a small amount of alcohol, or weed (any kind similar to it) that makes someone loose his mind.

Is less than 0.5% alcohol haram?

‘I was shocked’: alcohol-free drinks create conundrum for young Muslims W hen 20-year-old Hibah Dannaoui started working as a waitress, she was surprised to discover a new category of drinks: non-alcoholic beverages that are meant to imitate the taste of alcohol.

A practising Muslim, Dannaoui has never consumed alcohol. “I was actually shocked and didn’t understand the concept behind it, since they can make a normal drink,” she says. “I didn’t consume it and will not, since I’m a Muslim.” She says she is sceptical that these drinks could avoid contamination with alcohol.

“I would rather stay away from these ‘non-alcoholic’ beers. Even naming it is uncomfortable for me.” According to at La Trobe University, the number of 18-24-year-old Australians who don’t drink has doubled in the past 20 years. Given this, it is perhaps not surprising that the growth of the non-alcoholic drinks category outpaced that of alcoholic drinks, with the showing the volume of low- and no-alcohol drinks growing by 2.9% in 2020, while regular alcohol experienced a slight volume decline.

  1. Every month is “dry July” for Muslims.
  2. However, rather than increasing their options, the rise of zero-alcohol drinks created a conundrum for many young Muslims.
  3. According to Standards Australia, brands can label their products as “non-alcoholic” with anything less than 0.5% alcohol by volume.
  4. But while drinks with 0.5% alcohol may be labelled non-intoxicating by Food Standards Australia New Zealand,, like many other religions, has stricter rules for food and drink consumption.

Bushra Nasir from Muslims Down Under explains: “The holy Qur’an describes different categories of foods, and alcohol falls under the category which is prohibited because it is harmful to the body, and that which is harmful to the body is harmful to the spirit.” Thus, a drink that has 0.5% of alcohol is not halal – lawful or permissible.

  • While popular among many Australians who are cutting down on their alcohol consumption, zero-alcohol beer, wines and spirits are rarely marketed for people who have never drunk before.
  • Noura Hijazi, a 19-year-old Muslim, says: “I’ve actually never heard of non-alcoholic alcohol until now. I only recall beverages like ginger beer
  • “I wouldn’t really want to try it, first because there is no guarantee that it would be 100% alcohol-free, but also because I would find it a little weird.”

I believe once they learn and understand more about these products, they will become more inclined to try them Sherif Goubran, Craftzero Many non-alcoholic brands have noticed this untapped market, and have begun attempting to get halal certification for their drinks.

  1. Online alcohol-free drink retailer Craftzero does carry some halal options.
  2. However, out of the 200-odd drinks it sells, only 14 are halal certified.
  3. Sherif Goubran, director and co-founder of the store, says “these wines have been very popular Although they are certified Halal, they have been consumed by non-halal buyers alike.” When asked if he believes Muslims might be apprehensive about this style of drink, he says, “there are still so many people out there that are not aware of these products and their availability.

I believe once they learn and understand more about these products, they will become more inclined to try them and enjoy them.” There are several methods for making non-alcoholic drinks. One of the most common is through “ethanol distillation”, whereby alcohol that is formed during a drink’s fermentation process is boiled away.

  • Other ways to remove alcohol from alcoholic drinks includes reverse osmosis, where alcohol is pumped out with water.
  • Processes such as this are generally not considered halal.
  • Monday Distillery, a Melbourne-based zero-alcohol drinks manufacturer, says it is in the early stages of investigating halal certification.

Co-founder Haydn Farley says “we are working with a distribution partner who is importing our products to Singapore, Indonesia and Malaysia. Off the back of this, we are wanting to add halal certification as part of that expansion.” Sydney-based Seadrift, which distils non-alcoholic spirits, says halal certification “is next on the list” for its business.

  1. Whiteley says that creating a manufacturing process that does not involve fermentation at all, and is thus more likely to allow certification, “was a benefit to us anyway, because we wanted something that was extremely low in sugar”.
  2. Whiteley views the rise of zero-alcohol options such as hers as “really encouraging a very positive shift”.
  3. “There’s so many fabulous options coming on to the market that really are providing a huge amount of alternatives for so many people.”

She says this feeds into “the idea that you don’t have to be drinking, it’s becoming much more socially acceptable. And actually, that social acceptance is what’s going to have a massive impact on society. And that, you know, is a really positive thing that we can change.” But for Hijazi the need for an alternative at all seems like another side of the same coin.

Is denatured ethanol haram?

Ethanol and its Halal status in food industries , December 2016, Pages 14-20 Since the beginning of recorded history, a complex relationship between human and ethanol was developed. This complex relation continues today, probably because of its being the essence of wine and the intoxicating ingredient in many beverages, and one of the most important chemicals available to industry.

The solvent power of ethanol makes it particularly useful for extraction of valuable natural products from plant and animal tissues (Park, Kim, Kim, & Song, 2015). As an industrial raw material, ethanol is involved in the manufacture of adhesives, toiletries, detergents, explosives, inks, chemicals, hand creams, plastics, paints, thinners, textiles, vinegar and other (Equistar, 2003).

Two types of ethanol are produced worldwide, namely fermented and synthetic ethanol. Fermented ethanol (bioethanol) is produced from corn or other biomass material (Erdei et al., 2013, Gnansounou and Dauriat, 2005, Vijayalaxmi et al., 2013), mainly used for fuel, though a small part is used by the beverage industry.

  • Synthetic ethanol is produced from ethylene, a petroleum by-product (Chu, Echizen, Kamiya, & Okuhara, 2004), and is used mainly in industrial application (Yue, Ma, & Gong, 2014).
  • As alcohol is extensively applied in food, pharmaceutical, cosmetic and other industrial applications, therefore Halal status of alcohol used in industries need to be subjected for discussion.

Ethanol is a controversial and main issue in the production of Halal products (Khattak et al., 2011). Traditionally, consumers and Islamic jurist have identified ethanol as non-Halal (Haram, forbidden) substance, and hence Halal certified products are usually alcohol free.

  • In this review, we will highlight the advantages and disadvantages of ethanol, meanwhile compare the alcohol content in fruits and deduce alcohol limit for Halal production.
  • Quran was revealed that, alcohol contains some good and some evil, but the evil is greater than good: “They ask you about intoxicants and games of chance.

Say: In both of them there is a great sin and means of profit for men, and their sin is greater than their profit” (Chapter (2) Surat al-baqara). Although the above verse does not prohibit ethanol directly, but it expresses the harmful effect of intoxicant to human, and advice for abstaining from the usage of alcohol.

O you who have believed, indeed, intoxicants, gambling, stone alters, and divining arrows are but defilement from the work of Satan, so avoid it that you may be successful” (Chapter (5) Surat al-maidah). In this review, we describe the various types of ethanol, why ethanol is a potential risk (Gulbinat, 2009), and correlate science with Shariah to explain why not all ethanol types can be treated as Khamr (alcoholic beverage, non-Halal) and propose a set of limits for ethanol use in food industries.

Ethanol is the most common volatile compound produced since ancient times by the fermentation of sugars. All beverage ethanol and more than half of industrial ethanol is still made by the same process. Zymase is an enzyme from yeast, which is responsible for the changes of simple sugars into ethanol and carbon dioxide.

  1. The fermentation reaction, represented by the simple equation, Fig.1: During the process of fermentation, in the absence of oxygen, ethanol concentration is increased until it is The simple structure of ethanol molecule makes it appropriate alternative biofuel energy source to fossil fuel.
  2. The main raw materials used for bioethanol production are wheat straw in Europe, corn stover in the USA, and straw in China.
See also:  Para Que Se Usa La Mea En Cosmeticos?

Use of either sugar cane or corn to produce ethanol is problematic, because of their high production cost and the competition with food and feed production. To increase the productivity and cost effectiveness of ethanol production, many process and cheap raw There are several types of ethanol, but not all types of ethanol are suitable for all tasks: A 95% (95.6%) ethanol : This is the highest concentration of ethanol one can obtain by distillation, 95.6% ethanol is an azeotrope, which means the vapour state has the same ethanol:water ratio as the liquid state.

This alcohol could be obtained either synthetically in the lab from a variety of starting materials or by fermentation process of different biomasses. The quality of this alcohol is considered Ethanol is completely soluble in water, when drank as beverage, the ethanol molecules are rapidly absorbed through the stomach by small intestines and bloodstream then supplied to tissues such as brain.

Small amounts of alcohol act as a stimulant to many organs, but with increasing levels it begins to act as a depressant in the body and increase the risk of developing disease. The terms alcohol and alcoholic beverages are often confused with each other, alcoholic beverages are drinks (Table 1) that contain ethanol, since the chemical structure of ethanol has hydroxyl group, therefore, ethanol scientifically is classified as alcohol which belong to a long list of organic compounds commonly used in different fields like flavouring, coloring and medicines.

• Beer: It contains between 3% and 7% of ethanol and several

The word Khamr (alcoholic beverage), fermented fruits, was described in Quran 6 times; Alkhamr refers to the solution, which is produced from fruits or any natural sugar source by anaerobic fermentation and potentially could be used or lead to intoxication.

The main ingredient of Alkhamer is ethanol, which is the chemical substance responsible for intoxication, the physiological state induced by the ingestion of ethanol where a person usually becomes pleasantly relaxed, with an easing of Ethanol, the main ingredient of khamer, is a sensitive, controversial and main issue in the production of Halal products.

We have classified ethanol into three categories namely preserving agent, non-Halal and toxic. If ethanol content is less than 1%, it is considered as an essential preserving agent, therefore its Halal status is Mubah, allowed as long as ethanol was formed either naturally through the process of fermentation in the presence of oxygen, or added as synthetic ethanol.

L. Wang et al. A. Ghiselli et al. W. Chu et al. E. Chong et al. P.J. Brooks et al. A. Agular et al. J.B. Andradea et al. R. Arasasingham et al. S. Barron et al. G. Baumgartner et al.

Chapter 2, Quran. Surat al-baqara. verse. Chapter 5, Quran. Surat al-maidah. verse. R.T. Cook M. Correaa et al. D.J. Coutts et al. D.R. Doede H. Dong et al. R. Dudley J. Elsner et al. A.L. Equistar B. Erdei et al. J.A. Fuentes et al. I.D. Gil et al. E. Gnansounou et al. W.

Herein, a nanofiber network of La 1−x Ce x CoO 3 (x = 0, 0.05, 0.1 and 0.2) was prepared using the electrospinning-calcination method. X-ray diffraction patterns revealed the appearance of CeO 2 with increasing Ce-substitution. The gas sensing measurements established that the combination of the nanofiber morphology and catalytic effect of Ce imparts greater ethanol sensing performance, particularly for the highest Ce-substitution level of La 0.8 Ce 0.2 CoO 3 with enhanced response of 83.4, coupled with great selectivity, along with swift response and recovery time of 17 and 32 s at a low operating temperature of 100 °C. The particle-interconnected nanofiber morphology as observed from scanning electron microscopy presented exceptional large hole depletion layers (HAL) which allowed for HAL overlapping with each other thus promoting greater resistance changes. Furthermore, the Ce-substitution caused a deviation from the stoichiometry and increased the surface oxygen defects that created more active surface area which promoted a more advanced gas and surface interaction. This work demonstrates the potential ethanol sensing capabilities of La 1−x Ce x CoO 3 induced by Ce-partial substitution on the La-site. In this work, CuO nanosheets and CuO/rGO nanocomposites are synthesized by one-step hydrothermal method and characterized accordingly. Next, these samples are tested for gas sensing performance. The test data show that the CuO/rGO sensors have significantly improved gas sensing performance for ethanol compared to the pure CuO sensor. It should be noted that the CuO/rGO-10 sensor has the most outstanding gas sensing performance among the four sensors prepared, with an optimum working temperature 25 lower than that before doping, and its response value for 100 ppm ethanol at 175 °C is 10.54, which is 3.75 times higher than that before rGO doping. Also, the CuO/rGO-10 sensor has remarkable selectivity and reproducibility for ethanol. Most importantly, its limit of detection for ethanol is 100 ppb. At last, the gas sensing mechanism of the composites for ethanol is explained. Enhanced gas sensing performance of CuO/rGO sensors for ethanol is attributed to the lamellar structure and the synergistic effect between CuO and rGO. An in-house method, employing magnetic stirring-assisted aqueous extraction combined with gas chromatography-flame ionization detector, for determination of ethanol in different foods and beverages was validated according to the ISO/IEC 17025 standard. Validation parameters, including selectivity, method limits of detection (approx.0.006 mg/g) and quantification (approx.0.02 mg/g), linearity ( R 2 of >0.999), trueness (relative biases of <3%), accuracy (recoveries of 96–105%), and precision (relative standard deviations of <5%), were satisfactory. The proposed method was as accurate and precise as and more sensitive than the AOAC method 2016.12, with estimated relative expanded uncertainties of around 8% for all samples. The validated method was successfully applied for determination of ethanol in 108 commercially processed foods and beverages, and it could be used for halal verification. Accordingly, this study provided a reliable method for routine quantitative analysis of ethanol in processed foods and beverages to ensure their halal integrity prior to halal certification. This work studied the phase separation in systems formed by polypropylene glycol (PPG) with different molecular weights (425, 725, 1000, 2000 g mol −1 ) + ethylene glycol + ethanol, PPG + imidazolium chloride-based ionic liquid (IL) + ethanol, and PPG + ethylene glycol + IL (as adjuvant) + ethanol, which are namely Ethanolic Two-Phase System (ETPS). Systems based on PPG with highest molecular weight (2000 g mol −1 ) or IL with shortest alkyl chain (Cl) present the widest biphasic area and consequently the easiest phase formation. Moreover, the addition of low amounts of IL (5 wt%) is favorable for the liquid–liquid demixing. These systems were used in the partitioning of curcumin (hydrophobic compound) and caffeic acid (hydrophilic compound) from saffron ( Crocus sativus L.). Curcumin migrated to the PPG-rich phase (extraction efficiency, EE = 90.3%) while caffeic acid partitioned to the oppositive phase (EE CA  = 89.1%), representing a selective partitioning. In systems using IL as a constituent or adjuvant, the interactions between the IL and biocompounds propitiate the curcumin and caffeic acid migration for the same phase, interfering in the selectivity of the systems. However, IL-based ETPS showed a complete partition of the curcumin (EE = 100%) and the caffeic acid achieved an EE values of 98.0% for IL of longer alkyl chain length (Cl). This protocol based on ETPS can thus be applied as an approach to extract and purify biomolecules with very low (or null) water solubility.

The emergence of antimicrobial resistance (AMR) in zoonotic foodborne pathogens ( Salmonella, Campylobacter ) and indicator microorganisms ( E. coli, enterococci) is a major public health risk. Zoonotic bacteria, resistant to antimicrobials, are of special concern because they might compromise the effective treatment of infections in humans. In this review, the AMR monitoring and surveillance programmes in five selected countries within European Union (EU) and European Economic Area (EEA) are described. The sampling schemes, susceptibility testing for AMR identification, clinical breakpoints (clinical resistance) and epidemiological cut-off values (microbiological resistance) were considered to reflect on the most important variations between and within food-producing animal species, between countries, and to identify the most effective approach to tackle and manage the antimicrobial resistance in the food chain. The science-based monitoring of AMR should encompass the whole food chain, supported with public health surveillance and should be conducted in accordance with ‘Zoonoses Directive’ (99/2003/EC). Such approach encompasses the integrated AMR monitoring in food animals, food and humans in the whole food (meat) chain continuum, e.g. pre-harvest (on-farm), harvest (in abattoir) and post-harvest (at retail). The information on AMR in critically important antimicrobials (CIA) for human medicine should be of particular importance. An analytical method for the determination of five alcohols (methanol, ethanol, n-propanol, n-butanol and n-pentanol) in fermented Korean foods using gas chromatography-mass spectrometry (GC/MS) was validated in terms of precision, accuracy, sensitivity and linearity. GC/MS separation was performed on a silica-based INNOWAX column (film thickness 0.25 μm, i.d.250 μm, length 30 m) coated with polyethylene glycol and a mass selective detector set to determine specific selected ions for each alcohol. The limits of detection and quantification of the GC/MS analyses ranged from 0.25 to 1.16 mg/kg. Intra-day and inter-day RSDs for individual alcohol compounds were below 7%, and calibration curves exhibited good linearity ( r = 0.999) within the tested ranges. Recovery values ranged from 90.79 to 101.50%. These results suggest that the analytical method described in this study could be used to determine the concentrations of five alcohols in a variety of fermented Korean foods such as Gochujang, Kimchi and soybean sauce (paste, solid and liquid sample) for Halal food certification. Functional foods fortified with antioxidants are gaining more popularity since consumption alone of foods naturally rich in antioxidants is insufficient to reduce oxidative stress associated with various diseases. Despite their beneficial effects, natural antioxidants present in coffee are sensitive to heat, light and oxygen, limiting their application in the food industry. Although microencapsulation is able to protect the antioxidant from degradation, mask its taste and control its release, the process of microparticles incorporation affects the original food properties. A carefully designed delivery system is essential to produce sensory appealing food, guarantee the delivery of the bioactive ingredient, prevent interactions with other food components and overcome problems encountered during food manufacturing and digestion. This review discusses the implementation of microencapsulation as a delivery system for coffee antioxidants, focusing on the critical aspects of microparticles food incorporation. The development of microparticles containing coffee antioxidants for food applications should consider technological issues (such as antioxidant bioavailability, food manufacturing process and product final properties) as well as regulatory standards, economic feasibility and consumer acceptability. Further studies regarding the aforementioned parameters are needed in order to design suitable microparticles for functional foods. Gelatin and collagen are considered halal-critical ingredients as they are typically derived from either bovine or porcine animals. Current analytical methods for determining the sources of gelatin and collagen suffer from limitations in terms of robustness and false positives in peptide matching. Thus, the aim of this study was to investigate the utility of monitoring hydroxyproline, a signature amino acid for gelatin and collagen, for identifying potentially haram foodstuffs. To determine the hydroxyproline profiles among animal- and plant-based samples, one-way univariate analysis of variance followed by pair-wise comparison was used to establish statistical significance. Multivariate chemometric analysis through principal component analysis revealed a discrete distribution pattern among 59 samples due to hydroxyproline variability. Finally, inter- and intra-laboratory comparisons demonstrated the validity and robustness of hydroxyproline determination according to ISO 17025. Thus, this preliminary identification technique will aid the identification of potentially haram foodstuffs. A series of high profile contamination issues and scandals in recent years with top brands have shaken public confidence in the ability of manufacturers and governments to ensure the integrity of religious and cultural food. Cross-contamination of Kosher, halal, Christian, and vegetarian food can take place through entire supply chain from sourcing of raw materials to the manufacturing, transporting, storing, and handling. This has affected the halal status of the product, especially when they are in direct contact with non-halal products. Halal consumers worry whether the halal status of the food products can be guaranteed throughout the supply chain since most food products are now sourced from various parts of the world, including non-Muslim countries. This paper discusses the cross-contamination issues that exist during the processing, packaging, storage, and transportation of halal products. The expanding global Muslim population has increased the demand for halal pharmaceuticals. However, there are several challenges for this emerging niche industry, foremost of which is the need to establish a proper, well-regulated, and harmonized accreditation and halal management system.

: Ethanol and its Halal status in food industries

Is alcohol denat OK in perfume?

For longer-lasting fragrances – Denatured alcohol, is used in perfumes to dilute and merge oils and aromas, and also to help the fragrance last longer on your skin. The alcohol you can find in our perfumes is made out of beets in Europe with a super bitter flavoring ingredient. It’s safe for the skin but you will regret if you try to drink it! BROWSE MORE INGREDIENTS

Is alcohol in deodorant halal?

Alcohol in Perfume and Deodorant Alcohol is present in many deodorants and perfumes as a solvent or carrier. You can read the detailed post on the, When it comes to perfume, each ingredient has scent molecules of their own particular weight, for example, citrus oils have light molecules that are quite volatile and fade quickly, but heavier base oils like sandalwood and amber are heavier and don’t disperse much.

In other words, you’ll only really smell them very close to the skin. So the alcohol doesn’t only preserve, blend and stabilizes the perfume but it helps the scent molecules to disperse in the air around you. Many antiperspirants contain alcohol, which is used to dissolve different ingredients and to help the product dry quickly when applied.

The majority also will use isopropyl. Alcohol in such products will generally be halal, 1. if it’s ethanol then the below will be considered, 2. if its methanol or another form of alcohol then such products do not intoxicate thus halal. In summary, the ruling is based on the source of the alcohol not being from dates or grapes, else it would be impure conclusively.

It is not being used to intoxicate Alcohol is not used to intoxicate. Not being used as intoxicants are used Nor used to make the consumer drunk. Not being used in an amount that intoxicates The amount is incredibly at low levels, less than 0.1%. Not being used for vain purposes The alcohol is not added for a vain purpose in such products.

: Alcohol in Perfume and Deodorant

Can Muslims use deodorant?

Self-grooming – Aside from being as clean (purified) as they are for prayer, male Muslims are expected to cut their nails, and trim their hair and beards. They must also not wear any scent, including deodorant. They have to wear ihram clothing, which is a white, seamless garment.